Friday, February 20, 2015

Nancy Lee Badger Interviews Diana Cosby

Nancy- Author Diana Cosby stopped by to answer questions and to announce the February 24th release of the e Box-Set for The MacGruder Brothers Series. Since I LOVE anything Scottish, I asked her to tell my readers a little bit about this series. 

Diana- The MacGruder Brothers Series is set in medieval Scotland during their fight for freedom.   Through my characters stories, the series takes readers through Scotland’s crowning a new king in the time when England’s ruler had set his sights on acquiring Scotland beneath his power.  I loved researching this time-frame, and I work hard to try and ensure that my historical facts are correct, and I hope my readers enjoy the MacGruder Brother’s series as well.

Nancy- I also include historical facts in my Scottish time travel books, so explain more about this particular genre. Also, is this the only genre you write in?

Diana- The MacGruder Brothers Series are Scottish medieval romantic suspense.  I love writing action adventure stories, and every so often, I add in a touch of humor.  One of my favorite things to do is to weave history into my stories. I wrote Highland Vampire, which is one of the stories in the Scottish Vampire anthology Born To Bite, with other stories by Hannah Howell and Erica Ridley.

Nancy- Meeting Hannah Howell at a small local writer’s conference put me on the road to writing. Small world! When did you start writing toward publication? 

Diana- After I retired from the Navy.  When I started on my first story, I knew I’d found my life’s passion.

Nancy-Thank you for your service. Did you have several manuscripts finished before you sold? If so, did you send them out yourself?

Diana- I was working on my 11th single title when I sold my 8th and 9th books that I’d written, their titles His Captive and His Woman.  These books are the first two in The MacGruder Brothers Series.  Yes, the first two books I sold I met with an editor at a conference, and with her request, I sent in both books for her consideration.

Nancy- Two at once? Awesome! What is your writing routine like?

Diana- When I’m writing new pages, I write five pages per day five days a week.  This gives me 100 pages a month, and lets me finish a rough draft in four months.  It’ll take me another four months to polish the manuscript before I send it to my editor.  I use weekends to catch up on the business end of writing, which includes everything from taxes to interviews to signing bookmarks for readers and more.

Nancy- Are you a member of any writing organizations and, if so, have they helped?

Diana- I belong to several writing chapters within the umbrella of Romance Writers of America.  Connecting with other writers who are seriously pursuing a career in publishing has helped me tremendously on numerous levels.  I can’t tell you how much the encouragement from other writers has made a profound difference in my life as well as the friendships I’ve made over the years.  For anyone considering a career in writing, I highly encourage them to join professional writing groups and educate themselves about the writing industry of their respective genre.

Nancy- Will you share some encouraging words for authors still struggling for that first contract? 

Diana- For authors who are working for their first contract, my advice is to believe in yourself.  Only YOU can tell YOUR story.  Period.  Each day you write teaches you how to write better.  There is not one method to tell a story, but your way.  I’ve written several articles for writers that are on my website:

*One article that I’d suggest is, “The Benefits of Selling Later in your Career.”

Thanks! Please Share three fun facts about you that most people don’t know.
1)  I did quite a bit of scuba diving while I lived in Guam.
2)  I worked at a riding stable when I lived in Alaska.
3)  I love baking and creating recipes!

Very interesting! What’s next for you?
With the release of The MacGruder Brothers Series e Box-Set, I’ll be preparing for the release of the 2nd book in The Oath Trilogy, “An Oath Broken,” which is June 22nd.

His Captive – Alexander’s goal is to avenge his father’s murder, not to become entangled with the enemy. But his desire to keep Nichola with him, in his home—in his bed—unwittingly make her a target for those who have no qualms about shedding English blood.
His Woman – Lady Isabel Adair is the last woman Sir Duncan MacGruder wants to see again, much less be obliged to save. Three years ago, Isabel broke their engagement to become the Earl of Frasyer’s mistress, shattering Duncan’s heart and hopes in one painful blow. But Duncan’s promise to Isabel’s dying brother compels him to rescue her from those determined to bring down Scottish rebel Sir William Wallace.
His Conquest – Seathan MacGruder, Earl of Grey, is not unused to cheating death.  But even this legendary Scottish warrior is surprised when a beautiful Englishwoman creeps to his cell and offers him his freedom.  What Linet wants in exchange, though—safe passage to the Highlands—is a steep price to pay.  For the only thing more dangerous than the journey through embattled Scotland is the desire that smolders between these two fugitives the first time they touch . . .
His Destiny – As one of England's most capable mercenaries, Emma Astyn can charm an enemy and brandish a knife with unmatched finesse. Assigned to befriend Dubh Duer, an infamous Scottish rebel, she assumes the guise of innocent damsel Christina Moffat to intercept the writ he’s carrying to a traitorous bishop. But as she gains the dark hero’s confidence and realizes they share a tattered past, compassion—and passion—distract her from the task at hand…
His Seduction – Griffin may be an Englishman, but in truth he leads a clandestine life as a spy for Scotland. Refusing to endanger any woman, he has endured the loneliness of his mission. But Rois’s absurd charge has suddenly changed all that. Now, with his cover in jeopardy, Griffin must find a way to keep his secret while keeping his distance from his spirited and tempting new wife—a task that proves more difficult than he ever imagined…
His Enchantment – As guard to King Alexander, Lord Trálin MacGruder will stop at nothing to defend the Scottish crown against the Comyns. And he finds a sympathetic, and gorgeous, ally in the enigmatic Princess Catarine. As they plot to rescue the kidnapped king and queen, Trálin and Catarine will discover a love made all but impossible by her obligations to the Otherworld. But a passion this extraordinary may be worth the irreversible sacrifices it demands…

Link for excerpt for His Captive, book #1 in The MacGruder Brothers Series

Readers can go to the publisher’s HOME PAGE  

Buy Links:
Amazon    Nook    KOBO 

A retired Navy Chief, Diana Cosby is an international bestselling author of Scottish medieval romantic suspense.  Her award-winning MacGruder Brother books are translated in five languages.  Diana has spoken at the Library of Congress, Lady Jane’s Salon in NYC, and appeared in Woman’s Day, on USA Today’s romance blog, “Happy Ever After,”, Atlantic County Women Magazine, and Texoma Living Magazine.

After her career in the Navy, Diana dove into her passion – writing romance novels. With 34 moves behind her, she was anxious to create characters who reflected the amazing cultures and people she’s met throughout the world.   With the release of her 1st book in her new Scottish medieval The Oath trilogy, An Oath Taken, which hit bestseller lists in Canada and the United Kingdom, she’s now preparing for the release of the e Box Set of the MacGruder Brothers series on February 24th, and the last two books in The Oath trilogy, An Oath Broken – 22 June, and, An Oath Sworn – 23 December, 2015!

Diana looks forward to the years of writing ahead and meeting the amazing people who will share this journey. You can find more information about Diana at:

No comments:

Post a Comment